Property  Deadlines

This is a list of first-party property statute of limitations. Adjusters should be aware of their state’s particular statute of limitation and if the insurer should notify an insured of the upcoming deadline to file suit. While it may seem counter-intuitive, it is a good practice to let the insured know of the upcoming deadline regardless if there is a regulation or statute dictating the same. The reason is transparency. You want the insured to trust you. I know that many companies, if the state remains silent on the issue, will not want the insured to know of the statute of limitation deadline. They worry about an increased slew of litigation. If the companies settle fairly, timely, and equitably, then there should be nothing to worry about. 

 

This chart is current as of the date I wrote it, but adjusters should be familiar with their state’s rules. I cannot guarantee the accuracy of the list. Because laws and regulations can change without notice, an attorney should be contacted if there are any questions regarding this chart. These materials are provided for informational and educational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice or legal opinions because I am not an attorney.

State
Time
Statute
Alabama
6 years
AL Code § 6-2-30 et seq.
Alaska
6 years (real property); 2 years (personal property)
AK Stat. § 09.10.010 et seq.
Arizona
2 years
AZ Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-541 et seq.
Arkansas
3 years
ARCode Ann. § 16-56-101 et seq.
California
California has stayed the statutes of limitation for all civil causes of action from April 6, 2020, to 90 days after the Governor lifts the state of emergency related to the COVID-19 pandemic. The order was lifted on January 25, 2021; the stay will end on April 25, 2021.
California
3 years
CA Civ. Proc. Code § 312 et seq.
Colorado
2 years
CO Rev. Stat. § 13-80-101 et seq.
Connecticut
2 years
CT Gen. Stat. Ann. § 52-575 et seq.
Delaware
2 years
DE Code Ann. tit. 10, § 8101 et seq.
District of Columbia
3 years
D.C. Code § 12-301 et seq.
Florida
4 years
FL Stat. Ann. § 95.011 et seq.
Florida
Senate Bill 76, if passed and signed into law, would limit the statute to two years.
Georgia
4 years
GA Code Ann. § 9-3-20 et seq.
Hawaii
2 years
HI Rev. Stat. § 657-1 et seq.
Idaho
3 years
ID Code § 5-201 et seq.
Illinois
5 years
735IL Comp. Stat. 5/13-201 et seq.
Indiana
6 (real property); 2 (personal property)
IN Code Ann. § 34-11-2-1 et seq.
Iowa
5 years
IA Code Ann. § 614.1 et seq.
Kansas
The KS Supreme Court has suspended the application of the statute during the COVID-19 pandemic by way of its Administrative Order. This became effective on March 19, 2020.
Kansas
2 years
KS Stat. Ann. § 60-501 et seq.
Kentucky
5 (real property); 3 (personal property)
KY Rev. Stat. Ann. § 413.080 et seq.
Louisiana
1 year
LA civil code § 3492 et seq.
Maine
6 years
ME Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 14, § 751 et seq.
Maryland
3 years
MD Courts & Jud. Proc. Code Ann. §5-101 et seq.
Massachusetts
3 years
MA Ann. Laws ch. 260, § 1 et seq.
Michigan
3 years
MI Comp. Laws § 600.5801 et seq.
Minnesota
6 years
MN Stat. Ann. § 541.01 et seq.
Mississippi
3 years
MS Code. Ann. § 15-1-1 et seq.
Missouri
5 years
MO Rev. Stat. § 516.097 et seq.
Montana
2 years
MT Code Ann. § 27-2-202 et seq.
Nebraska
4 years
NE Rev. Stat. § 25-201 et seq.
Nevada
3 years
NV Rev. Stat. Ann. § 11.010 et seq.
New Hampshire
3 years
NH Rev. Stat. Ann. § 508:1 et seq.
New Jersey
6 years
NJ Stat. Ann. § 2a:14-1 et seq.
New Mexico
4 years
NM Stat. Ann. § 37-1-1 et seq.
New York
3 years
NY Civ. Prac. Laws & Rules § 201 et seq.
North Carolina
3 years
NC Gen. Stat. § 1-46 et seq.
North Dakota
6 years
ND Cent. Code § 28-01-01 et seq.
Ohio
2 years
OH Rev. Code Ann. § 2305.03 et seq.
Oklahoma
2 years
OK Stat. Ann. tit. 12, § 91 et seq.
Oregon
6 years
OR Rev. Stat. § 12.010 et seq.
Pennsylvania
2 years
42 PA Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5501 et seq.
Rhode Island
10 years
RI Gen. Laws § 9-1-12 et seq.
South Carolina
3 years
SC Code Ann. § 15-3-510 et seq.
South Dakota
6 years
SD Codified Laws Ann. § 15-2-1 et seq.
Tennessee
3 years
TN Code Ann. § 28-3-101 et seq.
Texas
§16.001 et seq., Tex. Bus. & Com. Code Ann. § 2.725
Texas
2 years
TX Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code 
Utah
3 years
UT Code Ann. § 78B-2-101 et seq.
Vermont
3 years
VT Stat. Ann. tit. 12, § 461 et seq.
Virginia
5 years
VA Code Ann. § 8.01-228 et seq.
Washington
3 years
WA Rev. Code Ann. § 4.16.005 et seq.
West Virginia
2 years
WV Code § 55-2-1 et seq.
Wisconsin
6 years
WI Stat. Ann. § 893.01 et seq.
Wyoming
4 years
WY Stat. § 1-3-102 et seq.