State Marijuana Cultivation Information

Several states allow individuals to grow marijuana plants for personal use and mandate how marijuana may be ingested (orally or smoked). 

The rules and regulations for marijuana change rapidly. This chart is current as of the date I wrote it, but adjusters should be familiar with their state’s rules. I cannot guarantee the accuracy of the list. Because laws and regulations can change without notice, an attorney should be contacted if there are any questions regarding this chart. These materials are provided for informational and educational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice or legal opinions because I am not an attorney.

STATE
CULTIVATION
POSSESSION LIMITS
CAREGIVER
DISPENSARIES
Alabama
Up to 12 cultivator licenses are allowed in the state.
70 daily doses of medical cannabis under 75 mg THC
The amount must not exceed the 60-day daily dosage purchasing limit.
N/A
Alaska
6 marijuana plants, only three of which may be mature.
1 ounce of usable marijuana
Must be 21 or older, not convicted of a felony controlled substance offense, and must be listed as either the primary caregiver or an alternate caregiver.
N/A
Arizona
12 marijuana plants, none within 25 miles of a licensed dispensary
2.5 ounces of usable marijuana
Must sign a statement promising not to deliver to anyone but only to the designated patient.
N/A
Arkansas
Those who qualify for a Hardship Cultivation Certificate (based on financial need) may cultivate up to 10 plants.
2.5 ounces of usable cannabis
Not authorized.
Nonprofit Cannabis Care Centers are licensed to distribute medical marijuana.
California
6 mature or 12 immature marijuana plants
8 ounces of usable marijuana (or more depending on doctor's recommendation))
Not authorized.
Must not be within 600 ft. of a school and cannot operate for a profit. It is regulated at the local level.
Colorado
6 marijuana plants
2 ounces of usable marijuana.
Must be listed on the medical marijuana registry; maximum of 5 patients.
Must be at least 1,000 ft. from a school or daycare center; local districts can prohibit dispensaries in their community.
Connecticut
Personal cultivation of cannabis is prohibited.
One-month supply (exact amount to be determined).
Up to 1 month supply between patient and caregiver; have same legal protection as patients.
No more than 10 state-licensed dispensaries to operate throughout the state.
Delaware
Only licensed compassion center agents may cultivate medical marijuana for qualified patients (home cultivation is prohibited)
6 ounces of usable marijuana.
Must be 21 years of age or older; have not been convicted of a felony offense; assist no more than 5 patients at a time.
Non-profit compassion centers may not dispense more than 3 oz. of marijuana per patient in any 14-day period.
District of Columbia
Not allowed under current law.
2 ounces of usable medical marijuana
Must be 18 years of age or older and registered as the qualifying patient’s caregiver.
May grow up to 500 plants on-site. Both non-profit and for-profit organizations are eligible to operate the dispensaries.
Florida
Not allowed under current law.
70-day supply (exact amounts not specified).
Not authorized.
Licensed by the Florida Dept. of Health.
Georgia
Not allowed under current law.
20 ounces of infused cannabis oils containing not more than 5% THC and an amount of CBD equal to or greater than the amount of THC.
Not authorized.
Senate Bill 195 (2021) permits the establishment of up to 30 state-licensed retailers of high-CBD/low-THC oil products to qualified patients.
Hawaii
7 marijuana plants, no more than three of which are mature
4 ounces of usable medical marijuana.
Not authorized.
State-licensed dispensaries opened in 2017.
Idaho
Cannabis in Idaho is fully illegal for any use, whether recreational or medical.
Illinois
Not allowed under current law.
2.5 ounces of usable marijuana
Not authorized.
Patients must select a designated dispensary from the list of state-licensed facilities.
Indiana
Not allowed under current law.
CBD extract preparations must contain at least 10% CBD by weight and no more than 0.3% THC
Authorized.
SB 52 authorizes retailers to sell independently certified “low THC hemp products” to adults.
Iowa
Not allowed under current law.
4.5 grams of total THC to a patient in a 90-day period
Not authorized.
HF 524 allows for the establishment of up to 5 state-licensed medical cannabis manufacturers.
Kansas
Not allowed under current law.
No limits specified. Under the law, “cannabidiol treatment preparation” contains CBD oil and THC with a concentration of not more than 5% relative to the cannabidiol concentration verified through testing by an independent laboratory.
Not authorized.
N/A
Kentucky
Not allowed under current law.
Limited (Yes High-CBD, low-THC oil)
Not authorized.
N/A
Louisiana
Not allowed under current law.
30-day supply of non-smokable marijuana preparations (i.e. edibles, tinctures).
Not authorized.
Current law allows for 1 state-licensed supply source, which will distribute through up to 10 licensed pharmacies.
Maine
6 marijuana plants, no more than 3 of which are mature
2.5 ounces of usable marijuana.
Must be 21 years of age or older and can never have been convicted of a drug offense.
Up to 8 non-profit dispensaries, one for each public health district, are allowed under state law.
Maryland
Not allowed under current law.
Up to 120 grams (unless a physician recommends more)
Not authorized.
102 dispensaries have been approved by the state.
Massachusetts
Limited (exact amount TBD).
Up to 10 oz. every 2 months
Not authorized.
State-licensed medical marijuana treatment centers.
Michigan
12 marijuana plants.
2.5 ounces of usable marijuana.
Not authorized.
Dispensaries may be operated legally within the state in accordance with rules enacted on Dec. 20, 2016.
Minnesota
Not allowed (except for licensed providers)
30-day supply, as determined by physician (state law will only allow non-smokable preparations to be sold in dispensaries)
Not authorized.
There are 8 licensed dispensaries throughout the state.
Mississippi
Yet to be determined
Yet to be determined
Missouri
Up to 6 plants
Up to 4 ounces per month
Not authorized.
State to license medical marijuana dispensaries
Montana
6 marijuana plants
1 ounce of usable marijuana
Not authorized.
Licensed medical marijuana providers.
Nebraska
Cannabis in Nebraska is fully illegal for any use, whether recreational or medical.
Nevada
7 marijuana plants, of which only 3 may be mature.
1 ounce of usable marijuana.
Not authorized.
State-licensed dispensaries.
New Hampshire
Not allowed under current law.
Up to 2 ounces
Not authorized.
Cannabis produced and distributed through no more than 4 state-sanctioned facilities.
New Jersey
Not allowed under current law.
2 ounces of usable marijuana per month
Must be 18 or older; cannot have a conviction for a felony drug offense; can only have one qualifying patient at a time.
Law allows up to 6 state-licensed "alternative treatment centers."
New Mexico
12 seedlings and 4 mature marijuana plants (16 total); licensed producers may grow up to 150 mature plants at a time.
6 ounces; more if you provide a letter of special need from your certifying physician.
Not authorized.
State-licensed dispensaries available.
New York
Not allowed under current law.
It may not be a whole-plant form of cannabis nor more than a 30-day supply (exact amounts unspecified).
Not authorized.
Up to 5 producers and up to 20 dispensaries licensed by the state.
North Carolina
Not allowed under current law.
Must be less than 0.9% THC and at least 5% CBD
Not authorized.
N/A
North Dakota
Patient or caregiver may grow up to 8 plants if they more than 40 miles from the nearest dispensary.
Up to 3 ounces
Not authorized.
Compassionate care centers will be licensed by the state.
Ohio
Not allowed under current law.
Shall not exceed 90-day supply (exact amount based on prescription
Not authorized.
The Ohio Board of Pharmacy will license dispensaries in the state.
Oklahoma
No in-state production allowed. Products are brought in from licensed growers that must comply with Title 63 O.S.
up to 8 oz of marijuana in your residence; up to 1 oz of concentrated marijuana; up to 72 oz of edible marijuana; up to 6 mature marijuana plants; up to 6 seedling plants; and up to 3 oz of marijuana on your person at a time.
Must be licensed to assist with purchase, application, and administration of medical marijuana for the patient.
N/A
Oregon
18 seedlings and six mature marijuana plants (24 total).
24 ounces of usable marijuana.
Not authorized.
State-licensed dispensaries allowed.
Pennsylvania
Not allowed under current law.
30-day supply of products purchased at a time.
Not authorized.
May only sell to adults over age 21.
Rhode Island
12 marijuana plants
2.5 ounces of usable marijuana.
Not authorized.
The state oversees the licensing and regulation of not-for-profit "compassion centers."
South Carolina
Not allowed under current law.
Only CBD oil is allowed and it must be at least 15% CBD and not more than 0.9% THC
Not authorized.
N/A
South Dakota
Not allowed under current law.
up to 3 ounces for qualifying conditions
Not authorized.
Currently taking applications for "medical cannabis establishment" permits.
Tennessee
Not allowed under current law.
Limited (CBD extracts, up to .9% THC)
Not authorized.
N/A
Texas
Not allowed under current law.
Limited (CBD extracts, up to 1% THC)
Not authorized.
Up to 3 licensed facilities
Utah
Up to 6 plants if you do NOT live within 100 miles of a dispensary.
Up to 2 ounces of usable marijuana (or products containing up to 10g of CBD or THC) within a 2-week period.
Not authorized.
Dispensaries are called "pharmacies." Pharmacies can be delivery-only.
Vermont
2 mature and/or 7 immature marijuana plants (no more than 9 total).
2 ounces of usable marijuana.
Not authorized.
Yes. Dispensaries may lawfully engage in home delivery.
Virginia
Up to 4 plants per household for adults 21 and older
1 oz (28 grams)
Not authorized.
Up to 4 oz per 30 days per patient
Washington
15 marijuana plants
24 ounces of usable marijuana.
Not authorized.
State- licensed dispensaries available.
West Virginia
Not allowed under current law.
Up to a 30-day supply at any given time
Not authorized.
Up to 30 dispensaries will be licensed by the state.
Wisconsin
Not allowed under current law.
low-THC CBD oil
Not authorized.
N/A
Wyoming
Not allowed under current law.
Must be at least 5% CBD and not more than 0.3% THC
Not authorized.
N/A

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It's easy.